NT Partners Community Meet up

Being in touch with others in your situation can be a lifeline for the NT partner in a relationship. That connection can come as a great relief, validating how you’ve felt and taking away feelings of frustration and isolation.

In all your getting, get understanding. —  Jacqueline Woodson, Hush

It is common within an AS/NT relationship for the NT partner to find that, over time, their social life diminishes. Whilst the AS partner may find lengthy or frequent social interaction exhausting and will need to spend time alone in order to ‘recharge their batteries’, the opposite is true for the NT partner.  Meeting up can be a great way to learn from others and to share experiences about the often frustrating life of loving an adult with Asperger’s Syndrome.

We will post Meetups on this page.  If there isn’t one in your area yet and you’d like to start one, please write to us at meetups@different-together and let us know.  We’ll update this page as often as we are notified of new meetings.  We hope to have Meetups throughout the UK and further afield before too long!

Please come and join us if you can make any of these Meetups:

UK

Edinburgh: Lunch and blether – Sunday 8 December

London: Meetup, support, vent – Sunday 8 December

Exeter:  Coffee and chat – Monday 9 December

Torquay:  Coffee and catch up – Tuesday 10 December

Manchester:  Coffee and chat – Wednesday 11 December

Bovey Tracey: Coffee and chat – Tuesday 17 December

Worcester:  Coffee and chat – Thursday 19 December

Epsom:  Coffee and chat – Friday 20 December

Torquay:  Coffee and catch up – Tuesday 7 January

Worcester:  Coffee and chat – Thursday 9 January

Edinburgh:  Lunch and blether – Sunday 12 January

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Tuesday 14 January

Bovey Tracey:  Coffee and catch up – Tuesday 14 January

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Saturday 8 February

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Tuesday 10 March

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Sunday 12 April

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Tuesday 12 May

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Saturday 13 June

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Tuesday 14 July

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Sunday 8 August

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Tuesday 8 September

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Saturday 10 October

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Tuesday 10 November

London:  Meetup, support, vent – Sunday 13 December

USA

Kathy Marshack, author of “Going over the edge?” used Meetup to start a group in her home town of Portland, Oregon. Her initiative meant the group grew quickly in numbers and now has a membership of over 600 members!

If you find there are no DT Meetups in your area and you would like to set one up yourself, please do contact us and we will do our best to help.