NT Partners Community Meet up

Being in touch with others in your situation can be a lifeline for the NT partner in a relationship. That connection can come as a great relief, validating how you’ve felt and taking away feelings of frustration and isolation.

In all your getting, get understanding. —  Jacqueline Woodson, Hush

It is common within an AS/NT relationship for the NT partner to find that, over time, their social life diminishes. Whilst the AS partner may find lengthy or frequent social interaction exhausting and will need to spend time alone in order to ‘recharge their batteries’, the opposite is true for the NT partner.  Meeting up can be a great way to learn from others and to share experiences about the often frustrating life of loving an adult with Asperger’s Syndrome.

We will post Meetups on this page.  If there isn’t one in your area yet and you’d like to start one, please write to us at meetups@different-together and let us know.  We’ll update this page as often as we are notified of new meetings.  We hope to have Meetups throughout the UK and further afield before too long!

Please come and join us if you can make any of these Meetups:

UK

London: Meetup, support, vent – Saturday 12 October

Edinburgh:  Lunch and blether – Sunday 13 October

Worcester:  Coffee and chat – Thursday 17 October

Bovey Tracey:  Coffee and chat – Monday 21 October

Epsom:  Coffee and chat – Friday 25 October

Leeds:  Coffee and chat – Saturday 26 October

Oxford:  Coffee and chat – Friday 1 November

Worcester:  Coffee and chat – Thursday 7 November

Exeter:  Coffee and chat – Monday 11 November

London: Meetup, support, vent – Tuesday 12 November

Worcester:  Coffee and chat – Thursday 28 November

Exeter:  Coffee and chat – Monday 9 December

London: Meetup, support, vent – Sunday 8 December

Worcester:  Coffee and chat – Thursday 19 December

Worcester:  Coffee and chat – Thursday 9 January

Halifax/Hebden Bridge: monthly meetings, alternating between lunchtimes in Halifax and evenings in Hebden Bridge. Organised by Calderdale Aspergers.

USA

Kathy Marshack, author of “Going over the edge?” used Meetup to start a group in her home town of Portland, Oregon. Her initiative meant the group grew quickly in numbers and now has a membership of over 600 members!

If you find there are no DT Meetups in your area and you would like to set one up yourself, please do contact us and we will do our best to help.